Civic and Jabloteh complete Toyota Classic semis match-ups

SF winners determine Secondary Schools exhibition clash

Point Fortin Civic captain and defender Andre Ettienne, left, puts in chase with Central FC forward Dwight Quintero.
Tuesday 2 December 2014

Point Fortin Civic and Play Whe San Juan Jabloteh both progressed to the semi-final round of the 2014 Toyota Classic after managing wins over Central FC and 10-man Club Sando respectively on Monday.

Civic trumped Central 4-2 on penalties following a 0-0 draw in the first match of the rescheduled quarter final round double header at the Ato Boldon Stadium before Jabloteh edged last season’s defeated finalists Club Sando 1-0.

Jamaican midfielder Adrian Reid’s 41stminute penalty, following a handball in the Sando area, stood the winner against the Super League leaders equipped with a number of former Pro League players and former St. Ann’s Rangers coach Anthony Streete.

Sando, although having forward Kevon Woodley ejected for dangerous play in the second period, dominated the goal scoring chances but failed to find the back of the net on a night that included being denied by goalkeeper Shane Mattis on a second half penalty.

Jabloteh too had themselves to blame for the difficulty, missing out on a couple clear cut chances and Reid missing out on his double from the spot – blanked by the glove of goalkeeper Alexei Julian near the end.

And just as Sando, Central endured a miserable night near the goal and paid the price of exit.

Civic goalkeeper Marvin Phillip produced a number of brilliant saves, the majority in the second half, and his presence between the uprights also saw Central’s Marvin Oliver and Akeem Benjamin, both usually clinical from the spot, denied by the crossbar on the first kick on penalties and wide on the third, respectively.

Meanwhile Civic’s Andre Ettienne, Andrei Pacheco, Kevon Rouse and Steven Joseph were clinical to finish 4-2 kicks from the penalty spot winners, trumping Central’s scorers Jason Marcano and Qian Grosvenor.

Jabloteh will be the first of Monday’s winners to return to the Couva venue on Saturday when the “San Juan Kings” goes up against Police FC in semi-final one from 5 pmfollowed by WASA FC against Civic from 7 pmin semi-final two.

Also, new to the Toyota Classic this season, each competing teams were required to select a Secondary Schools Football League’s (SSFL) team from within their community.

The SSFL teams chosen by the 2014 Toyota Classic finalists will meet in the first match of a double header on the Final day on December 12.

Jabloteh selected East Intercol champions San Juan North Secondary while Police have Fatima College; Civic have Point Fortin East Secondary; and WASA with St. Augustine Senior Secondary.

Toyota Classic 2014
Upcoming Semi Final Round Matches
Saturday 6 December 2014
Ato Boldon Stadium
San Juan Jabloteh vs Police—5 pm
WASA FC vs Point Fortin Civic—7 pm

Quarter Final Round Results
Central FC 0 vs Point Fortin Civic 0

Kicks from the penalty mark
Central FC                           Point Fortin Civic
Marvin Oliver (cross bar)      Andre Ettienne (scored)
Jason Marcano (scored)        Andrei Pacheco (scored)
Akeem Benjamin (over bar)   Kevon Rouse (scored)
Qian Grosvenor (scored)       Steven Joseph (scored)

San Juan Jabloteh 1 (Adrian Reid 41’ pen) vs Club Sando 0

Police FC 1 (Christon Thomas 10') vs Defence Force 1 (Richard Roy 72')

Kicks from the penalty mark

Defence Force 3                   Police FC 4

Devorn Jorsling (scored)         Todd Ryan (scored)
Richard Roy (scored)              Elijah Belgrave (missed)
Curtis Gonzales (upright)        Clevon Mc Fee (scored)
Kerry Joseph (missed)            Christon Thomas (scored)
Dave Long (scored)               Hector Sam (scored)

Caledonia AIA 1 (Purnell Schultz 38’) vs WASA FC 2 (Mario Kissoon 45', Ethan Robinson 63’)

Preliminary Round Results
San Juan Jabloteh 4 (Simon Nedd own goal 17', Troy Moses 31', 40') vs 1976 FC Phoenix 0

Petrotrin Palo Seco 0 vs Defence Force (Pro League) 6 (Devorn Jorsling 30', 45'+, 69', Kerry Joseph 53', Jemel Sebro 77', Darryl Trim 81')

Caledonia AIA 3 (Nathan Lewis 32', Pernell Schultz 76', Kyle Adams 82') vs Defence Force (Super League) 0

WASA FC 1 (Gary Glasgow 49') vs W Connection 1 (Alvin Jones 7')

Kicks from the penalty mark
W Connection   3                WASA FC 4
Alvin Jones (scored)            Gary Glasgow (scored)
Mekeil Williams (scored)       Dorean Daniel (scored)
Hashim Arcia (crossbar)       Glen Walker (over bar)
Neil Benjamin Jr. (over bar)  Ethan Robinson (Scored)
Gerard Williams (scored)      Stern John (scored)

St. Ann's Rangers 0 vs Point Fortin Civic 3 (Marcus Joseph 37', Andre Toussaint 59', Andrei Pacheco 63')

Police FC 2 (Elijah Belgrave 30', Jibri Mc David 68') vs Guaya United 1(Beville Joseph 11')

Central FC 3 (Keion Goodridge 19’, Ataulla Guerra 76’, 84’) vs La Horquetta SA 0

Club Sando 1 (Jack Weedon 87’) vs North East Stars 0