Digicel Pro Bowl

Category: Digicel Pro Bowl

Pro Bowl final expected to thrill; Central and Defence Force charged for finale battle

Photo: Hashim Arcia (#10) and his Defence Force FC teammates celebrate a goal during the 2016-17 Pro League season.

Wednesday Feb. 15. 2017

Central FC versus Defence Force, a game that is supposed to make the mouth water.

This showpiece will bring down the curtain on the 2016-17 Pro League season on Sunday in the final of the Digicel Pro Bowl from 6pm at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

A clash of two champions: Central, the historic three-peat Digicel Pro League champions, against this season’s First Citizens Cup champions and Pro Bowl holders, Defence Force, renewing their rivalry in the battle for the $100,000 ‘Winner Takes All’ final.

Central have defeated Defence Force on three previous occasions this season, including a 3-1 penalty win following a 2-2 draw in the season-opening Digicel Charity Shield last September. Like they started the season against each other, both sides will end against each other on Sunday.

“We have what it takes to go all the way,” said Central FC head coach Dale Saunders, whose side are on a seven-game winning streak, eclipsing that of a three-game winning run by Defence Force.
​Photo: Central FC goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams, third from right, is congratulated by teammates after scoring the winning kick against Club Sando in the semi-final round of the Digicel Pro Bowl at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Feb. 12, 2017.
But Saunders, who also led the Couva Sharks to this season’s Rawle Fletcher (DPL Round One) trophy, predicts a tough Pro Bowl final. However the Couva Sharks’ coach said he will have his players motivated for the title match.

Police gave early excitement to this season’s Pro Bowl with a 9-0 qualifier win over Point Fortin Civic, then, in the upset of the tournament, the Lawmen knocked out four-time champions W Connection on penalties in the quarter-finals.

But coach Richard Hood’s Lawmen were stopped in their track last Sunday by Defence Force, who progressed to the final with a 4-0 victory courtesy a hat-trick from striker Jamille Boatswain and Hashim Arcia’s third goal of the tournament.
​Photo: Defence Force midfielder Hashim Arcia, second from left, celebrates with teammates after scoring against Police FC in the semi-final round of the Digicel Pro Bowl at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Feb. 12, 2017.
Meanwhile 2015 winners Central, who were comfortable 8-0 quarter-final winners over St. Ann’s Rangers, needed a semi-final penalty shootout, and a save and winning kick from goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams to dispatch Club Sando following a 0-0 stalemate.

“It’s a great feeling for us going forward as defending champions,” said Defence Force head coach Marvin Gordon after his side’s comfortable semi-final win. “…and meeting the in-form team, Central FC. It’s a great opportunity for us to work hard and try to finish the season with another trophy.

“It will be a tough game. Central have the momentum; they have a way of finding the wins even when they are playing bad. Today (Sunday) they weren’t so brilliant and in the end still got the result [against Sando]. That’s the metal of a championship team.”

Digicel Pro Bowl 2016/17 season
(Sunday 19 February 2017)
Ato Boldon Stadium
Central FC vs Defence Force—6pm

Semi Final Round results
(Sunday 12 February 2017)
Central FC 0 (5) vs Club Sando 0 (4), at Ato Boldon Stadium;
Central won the game 5-4 on kicks from the penalty spot.

Kicks from the penalty spot
Club Sando 4                         Central FC 5
Kemuel Rivers (scored)          Jason Marcano (saved)
Keron Cornwall (scored)         Darren Mitchell (scored)
Akeem Humphrey (scored)     Leston Paul (scored)
Nical Stephens (scored)          Keston George (scored)
Trevin Latapy (overbar)           Rundell Winchester (scored)
Kevon Piper (wide)                  Keron Cummings (wide)
Leslie Joel Russell (overbar)  Tyrik John (overbar)
Shaquille Holder (saved)        Jan-Michael Williams (scored)

Police FC 0 vs Defence Force 4 (Jamille Boatswain 61’, 78’, 84’ Hashim Arcia 68’), at Ato Boldon Stadium.

Quarter Final Round results
(Thursday 9 February 2017)
Ma Pau Stars 0 vs Club Sando 2 (Kevon Piper 63’, Akeem Humphrey 76’) (D), at Ato Boldon Stadium;

San Juan Jabloteh 1 (Adrian Reid 29’ penalty) vs Defence Force 2 (Hashim Arcia 49’, 52’) (C), at Ato Boldon Stadium.

(Wednesday 8 February 2017)
Central FC 8 (Sean De Silva 28’ penalty, Rundell Winchester 31’, 52’, Johan Peltier 43’, 80’, 83’ penalty, 88’, Keron Cummings 68’) vs St. Ann’s Rangers 0 (A), at Ato Boldon Stadium;

W Connection 1 (2) (Hughtun Hector 20’) vs Police FC 1 (3) (Christon Thomas 86) (B), at the Ato Boldon Stadium.
Police FC won the game 3-2 on kicks from the penalty spot.

Kicks from the penalty spot
Police FC 3                           W Connection 2
Todd Ryan (post)                  Hughtun Hector (over)
Niquan Caruth (scored)         Kevon Goddard (scored)
Kareem Perry (saved)           Kurt Frederick (post)
Christon Thomas (scored)    Malik St. Prix (scored)
Dexter Alleyne (scored)        Gerard Williams (post)

Qualifier Round results
(Tuesday 31 January 2017)
Police FC 9 (Elijah Belgrave 2’, 16’, 80’ Kareem Perry 44’, 69’, Kadeem Riley 50’, Dexter Alleyne 57’, Jameel Perry 90’+2, Micah Lewis 79’) vs Point Fortin Civic 0, at Hasely Crawford Stadium;

St. Ann’s Rangers 0 (5) vs Morvant Caledonia United 0 (4), at Hasely Crawford Stadium.
Rangers won the game 5-4 on kicks from the penalty spot.

Kicks from the penalty spot
St. Ann’s Rangers 5                  Morvant Caledonia United 4
Jameel Antoine (scored)             Kareem Joseph (scored)
Devon Modeste (overbar)           Keron Bethelmy (saved)
Che Benny (crossbar)                 Akim Armstrong (scored)
Shakiyl Phillip (scored)               Jameel Neptune (saved)
Kyle Bartholomew (scored)         Dylon King (scored)
Sedale Mc Lean (scored)            Seon Thomas (scored)
Kazim Donald (scored)               Kordell Samuel (saved)