National Team News

Category: National Team News

Jorsling's goal gives T&T narow 1-0 win over Antigua

Jorsling's goal gives T&T narow 1-0 win over AntiguaTrinidad and Tobago’ s Men Senior team broke their three-match winless streak with a slim 1-0 victory over Antigua/Barbuda at the Antigua Recreation Ground on Sunday.

A Devorn Jorsling 70th minute goal gave the Russell Latapy coached team the victory as they continue their build up to the Digicel Caribbean Cup later this year.

T&T needed a win to shake off a series of less than convincing performances in their last three matches which included defeats to Jamaica and Panama and a 0-0 draw with Belize.

Latapy had several new starters in his team including National U23 striker Juma Clarence who made his senior international debut while Lester Peltier and Anthony Wolfe also made their returns.

The lone goal came when Ataullah Guerra made a surging run down the flank before crossing for Hughtun Hector. His effort deflected into the path of Jorsling who made no mistake from close up.
Goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams saved a 57th minute penalty from Randolph Burton after Kern Cupid handled inside the box.

Latapy had Defence Force’s head coach Ross Russell as his assistant coach.

“Overall I think we deserved the victory but we should have won more convincingly. I’m happy for the win but we need to win by a bigger margin. The main focus is getting ready for the Digicel Cup and hopefully we can put in an even better performance against St Lucia in the next match,” Jorsling said.

T&T faces St Lucia on Tuesday at the same venue. The team will also travel to Guyana to play their senior team on September 26 and Jamaica in Kingston on October 10.

T&T: - 1.Jan-Micheal Williams, 14.Joevin Jones, 19.Daneil Cyrus, 5.Kern Cupid, 6.Keston Williams, 11.Kevon Carter (2.Clyde Leon 68th), 7.Hughtun Hector, 8.Juma Clarence (13.Jason Marcano 46th), 15.Lester Peltier (4.Ataullah Guerra 62nd), 10.Anthony Wolfe, 9.Devon Jorsling (17.Jamal Gay 72nd).

Subs not used: - 21.Kevin Graham, 16.Jesse Stewart, 3.Aklie Edwards, 12.Keron Cummings, 18.Densill Theobald.